Department Leadership Changes at City Hall

City Manager Evert Palmer has announced a departmental reorganization and two key appointments at City Hall.  David Miller now serves as Director of the newly combined Public Works and Community Development department, and Ken Payne serves as Director of the Environmental and Water Resources Department.  

“The recent retirement of former Public Works Director Richard Lorenz provided an opportunity to reorganize and take advantage of in-house talent as we strive to operate as efficiently as possible in this challenging economic climate,” says Palmer.  “David and Ken are highly skilled and experienced leaders who willingly stepped up to assume additional duties.”

Miller, who has served as Folsom’s Community Development Director since 2007, is now overseeing the combined department with responsibility for street construction and maintenance; transportation and traffic planning; solid waste, recycling and HazMat; public and private permitting; planning and engineering; housing programs; and arborist duties. 

Payne has responsibility for managing the City’s water, storm water and waste water utility operations, including all planning, maintenance, operations and compliance functions. 

Miller’s salary is $159,602 and Payne’s is $152,524.  Lorenz earned $151,756 per year.  Palmer noted that promoting from within rather than hiring a new Public Works Director achieves an annual savings of nearly $140,000, plus pension and benefit costs.

Miller’s professional experience includes 38 years as a professional planner, as well as service as a Director of Public Works.  Miller holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Environmental Design from the University of Washington and is certified by the American Institute of Certified Planners.

Payne, who previously served as the City’s Utilities Director, has a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from the University of the Pacific.  He is a Professional Engineer certified in Safety Assessment for Disaster Service by the Governor’s Office of Emergency Services.