Yes, California passed a law that requires carbon monoxide detectors in single family homes after July 1, 2011. For information about the law and the types of detectors, click on this link to view the State Bulletin.
The City's Code Enforcement Division is responsible for enforcement of this change the the California Building and Residential Codes.
Yes, Folsom Fire Station 35 (535 Glenn Drive) is the collection site for the City's Sharps Disposal Program. The containers may be dropped off ONLY if a Fire Department attendant is present to accept it. Sharps can only be accepted if they are sealed inside of an approved sharps container, or unused and in the originally sealed package. Approved sharps containers can be obtained at Station 35.
No, that is not true. Fire extinguishers must be serviced annualy by a licensed service company of your choosing. If an out-of-date extinguisher is found during a fire department inspection, you will be given a correction notice with a specified time to make the correction.
Unfortunately, there have been a number of fraudulent practices, including people impersonating fire inspectors or fire protection companies and demanding immediate payment for their inspection or service.
For tips on avoiding these scams, download our information sheet.
Health & Safety Code Section 104113 mandates that health clubs have an AED.
Click below for informational booklet named "After the Fire."
Barbeques used in multi-family housing are regulated under California Fire Code Section 308. This section allows the use use of charcoal-burning barbeques and propane (LPG) barbeques with a gas container no larger than one pound on apartment or condominium balconies only if the building and the balcony is protected by an automatic fire sprinkler system. Propane (LPG) barbeques with a gas container capacity of over one pound are prohibited on baconies of multi-family housing (Note: the container size on most common "backyard" LPG barbeques is twenty pounds.) if barbeques are used, they must be located away from combustible materials. We recommend having a fire extinguisher immediately accessible in case of fire.
Yes, you can stop by any of our fire stations and our firefighters are all trained to do that for you. Please keep in mind that emergency calls may inhibit the firefighter's availability at the time of your visit.
Sacramento County Air Quality Regulations govern the burning of any solid fuel, including wood, manufactured logs, or pellets in indoor or outdoor fireplaces, wood stoves, firepits, and chimineas. Before burning, check for restrictions by calling 1-877-662-8765 or at Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District.
Burning trash or any material that creates noxious odors is prohibited by the Folsom Municipal Code.
Folsom Fire Code, Section 8.36.020, International Fire Code- Adopted by Reference and Section 8.36.080 Amendments, Additions, and Deletions, Sub-Section 315.4 Outside Storage states: “Outside Storage of combustible materials shall not be located within 10 feet of a structure or lot line.” The California Fire Code, Section 315.4 Outside Storage, allows two exceptions to the 10-foot requirement:
1. The separation distance is allowed to be reduced to 3 feet for storage not exceeding 6 feet in height.
2. The separation distance is allowed to be reduced where the fire code official determines that no hazard to the adjoining property exists.
Many City lots have a side yard setback dimension of only 5 feet, therefore the Fire Chief will allow only City-owned containers (garbage, recycling, and green waste) to be stored in the side yard when it is not wide enough to meet the requirements listed above. The storage must allow for an emergency responder to walk alongside the structure and an occupant to safety exit to a public way. No other combustible storage is allowed in a side yard unless if it meets the requirements listed above.
No, the City of Folsom cannot accept payment of any fees by credit card at this time. Acceptable forms of payment are checks, cash and money orders. For proper credit, please include your invoice number with any payment.
Yes. Sacramento Metropolitan Fire District, Sacramento City Fire Department and El Dorad Hill County.
A Fire Prevention Officer will issue you an inspection report detailing all the conditions that violate the fire code and could cause a fire and endanger life and/or property. These deficiencies must be corrected immediately. A re-inspection to verify the abatement of the deficiencies noted will be coordinated with the business owner and the Fire Prevention Officer. Failure to correct the deficiencies prior to the first re-inspection date will result in the issuance of a final correction notice and another date will be identified to verify compliance. Deficiencies not corrected on the second re-inspection may result in monetary civil penalties in accordance with FMC Chapter 1.09. These civil penalties will be above and beyond the inspection fees. Additionally, if the violation is of a serious life safety nature or shows a pattern of non-compliance, a criminal citation may be issued.
No, the Fire Department does not perform the annual servicing of fire extinguishers required by the State Fire Marshal; however, this correction might be noted as part of a Fire Department inspection. Fire extinguishers must be serviced or recharged by a state-licensed company. You can find one listed in the yellow pages under "fire extinguishers". We do not recommend any one company.
Inspectors inspect commercial buildings, facilities and multi-family housing units. The purpose of the inspection is multifold:
"Safe and Sane" can be used throughout the City of Folsom from noon on June 28th through midnight on the 4th of July with some exceptions. Fireworks are not allowed in most city parks or on bike trails. They can be used on public streets, as well as in your yard or driveway. Fireworks are prohibited these locations.
You can also find information on the main fireworks page.
Cold Weather Safety Tips
Download the attached PDF form. You can hand deliver or mail the form to the address provided. A fee of $201 must accompany the request.
Yes. A First Responder fee is intended to cover the costs of medical supplies used in the evaluation and/or treatment of medical or tramatic complaints. However, if there is an economic hardship, a fee waiver may be applied for by calling Fire Administraation at 916-461-6300.
The fee will be submitted with the ambulance transport charge to your insurance company, Medi-Care, Medi-Cal, or you if you are uninsured. If you are billed and there is an economic hardship, a fee waiver may be applied for by calling Fire Administraation at 916-461-6300.
Non-urgent matters can be addressed by the administrative support staff during normal business hours at 916-461-6300.
Yes, you can receive a copy of an incident report for the fee of $30 by completing a request form. You will need to provide the date, approximate time and location of the incident. This basic report will show a general narrative regarding the response and the department respondents. Patient care information is not available to anyone other than the patient, or through a subpoena. This is processed through our administrative office. Please allow ten days for processing. If you have any questions, please call 916-461-6300.
The fee for a fire and life safety inspection is based on a schedule that considers type, occupancy use and square footage and includes the initial inspection and one re-inspection. Subsequent re-inspections may be charged additional fees. Some businesses may also require a fire code operational permit for processes considered hazardous by the fire code.
The purpose of establishing fees for fire safety inspections is to recover the cost of the service in accordance with the fire code.
The frequency of inspections for a business will vary depending on the types of risks associated with the business, and as required by state law.
It depends. Fire Prevention Officers may stop by your business as part of a regular inspection route. If it is an inconvenient time for an inspection, the Fire Prevention Officer will schedule a more convenient time. If you are a new business owner or require fire code use permits, call the City of Folsom Fire Prevention Division at 916-461-6300 Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. You will be referred to the Fire Prevention Officer responsible for the inspection of your business to determine whether one is needed at this time.
A 30-day advance notice is hightly recommended. Complete a request form (Pub Ed Request), or you may call 916-461-6300. This request is then submitted to the Division Chief to determine resources and a return call will be made to you confirming the scheduled tour date or appearance and location.
Folsom residents may participate in the fire department's ride-along program to observe first hand how firefighters respond to calls for help. Ride-along participants must be at least 18 years of age. Residents may only participate in the ride-along program one time; between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. The dress code is outlined in the Ride-Along form. All participants must fill out and submit the fire department's Ride-Along form.
Sand and bags are available at two locations in the City of Folsom:
48 Natoma Street
Next to City Hall behind Senior Arts & Cultural Center
9700 Oak Avenue Parkway
Behind Fire Station 36
Certain activities require a separate permit from the Fire Department. An example of these activities would be erecting a tent or canopy, operating a carnival or fair, operating a special amusement building, and operating a public assembly. The Fire Department charges a fee for these permits.
You will need to submit a Fire Code Permit Application form. The completed form and applicable fees can be submitted at our administrative offices at Station 35, 535 Glenn Drive.
Fire apparatus access road turns must be designed for a 25-foot inside turning radius and a 50-foot outside turninig radius.
You can leave a detailed message on the Fire Safety line at 916-962-9780. The owner of the property will then receive a notice to comply with code requirements. After an allotted time, if the owner does not comply, the weeds will be abated by a contractor and the owner will be liable to reimburse the city for the associated costs.
The City of Folsom Fire Prevention Division is located at 50 Natoma Street. The Fire Prevention Division officers are frequently in the field. If you wish to stop by and speak with a staff member, please make an appointment first to ensure that someone will be there. You can call a Prevention Officer at 916-461-6318.